Where are you from?

Image

This is a simple question that I haven’t found a simple answer to. Why? Well I can cease complexities by claiming one city or the other, but in reality my childhood was broken up almost evenly between Georgia and Arizona, although I was born in The Netherlands. I have spent most of my adult life in Arizona (so far). My parents were in the Army, one born in Arizona, and the other born in Georgia, but raised in New York. I know many people who are “Army brats,” but have been raised in one city versus several. To breakdown my whereabouts growing up:

Pre-School through third grade was spent in Arizona.

Fourth grade was spent in Georgia.

Fifth and sixth grade was spent in Arizona.

Seventh through ninth grade was spent in Georgia.

Tenth through twelfth grade was spent in Arizona.

I completed my undergraduate degree in Arizona.

I am completing my graduate degree in Georgia.

When I’m asked that question: “Where are you from?” I typically say: “From nowhere.” Sometimes I say from Arizona, and other times I say from Georgia and Arizona or from the Army. Many military brats will say they are “from everywhere.”  People are usually surprised, no matter the answer I give, as many people think I’m from Africa or the Caribbean.

My question is, “does it really matter?” Based on what you now know, where am I from?

Leave a Reply

